Mohawk College Facebook AccountMohawk College Twitter AccountMohawk College YouTube Account Mohawk College Google Plus AccountMohawk College LinkedIn AccountMohawk College Pinterest AccountMohawk College Instagram AccountBlogsOne Card
Login to MoCoMotion Login to eLearn Link to the Accessibility Site
Mohawk CollegeMohawk Media Room The source for breaking news and information
from Mohawk College.

Contact Us

Jay Robb
Media Relations
Phone: 905-575-1212, ext 3965
Fax: 905-575-2425
Email Jay Robb

Al Craig
Phone: 905-575-2004
Fax: 905-575-2372
Email Al Craig

Media Release - January 28, 2005


Celebrating the remarkable achievements of Mohawk College graduates, this year’s Mohawk College Alumni of Distinction Awards dinner recognizes seven exceptional recipients. Each year, the Mohawk College Alumni Association recognizes those graduates who have demonstrated career achievement, calling attention to the vital role Mohawk College graduates play in the social and economic life of their communities.

“The success of these alumni, both in their personal and professional lives, is a true testimonial to the value of a Mohawk College education,” affirmed Mohawk College President MaryLynn West-Moynes. “All of the Alumni of Distinction Award recipients also were nominated by Mohawk College for the Ontario Premier’s Award. Mohawk College Alumni Association was particularly pleased when it was announced that Dominic Agostino would be the recipient of a 2004 Premier’s Award for Community Service, to be presented at the end of February. We understand that this is the first time this award has been given posthumously.”

Morgan Seele, President of the Mohawk Alumni Association adds, “We are proud to honour these seven individuals as they join the 29 past recipients of our Alumni of Distinction Awards. Recognizing their accomplishments and contributions to the community as prime examples of the many made by more than 65,000 alumni of Mohawk College.”

Mohawk recipients for the Alumni of Distintion Awards are:

Also recognized at this year’s celebration dinner is the Alumni of Distinction Award recipient for 2003:

Lyla Miklos, Radio Broadcasting, 1997 and Broadcast Journalism, 1998: A creative force to be reckoned with, Ms. Miklos has a vast array of experience in radio, television, broadcasting, music, and theatre. She currently works for CHUM Television as the Program Coordinator for Bravo!, Space: The Imagination Station and Drive-In Classics.