Facility Operations & Engineering Services

Mohawk College Facility Services provides a wide array of services to the Students, Faculty, and Staff.

Facility Services oversees:

  • The implementation of maintenance and improvements of all College facilities to enhance the learning environment and protects the College's physical facilities assets.
  • We direct successful implementations of renovations and construction projects within targeted completion dates and optimize allocated project funding.
  • Proactively develop projects to improve the learning environment and operating cost efficiency.
  • Provide engineering and construction services for all existing and new facilities of the College in support of academic programs and services.

Facility Services areas include:

Mechanical and Electrical

  • Ensures College campuses are safe and in good repair according to applicable legislative and municipal bylaws
  • Oversees the operation & alterations of facilities mechanical & electrical department.
  • Establishes & implements preventative maintenance systems.
  • Plans & implements energy savings measures and monitors utility costs.
  • Secures, manages, monitors and evaluates a variety of services & contracts for cost and operational effectiveness.
  • Plans, organizes and directs mechanical & electrical activities to ensure activities are directed within allocated resources; ensures the efficient and effective use of human, fiscal and physical resources, and within the context of the College's Strategic goals.

 

For more information, please contact:

Name Title Email Ext.
Brian Fritz Team Lead - Mechanical Team brian.fritz [at] mohawkcollege.ca 4680
Robert Daniel Team Lead - Electrical Team rob.daniel [at] mohawkcollege.ca 4681
Stephen Jankus Energy Specialist steve.jankus [at] mohawkcollege.ca 3794
Kevin Morton Manager, Mechanical, Electrical & Energy kevin.morton [at] mohawkcollege.ca 3179

Building Maintenance and Grounds

  • Responsible for the maintenance of College building systems including building envelope (roof and exterior walls) and all interior finishes (walls, ceilings and floor coverings). This includes carpentry, brickwork, welding, painting, roof work, floor covering, window coverings and various signage at all campus locations.
  • Organizes, plans, directs and supervises building maintenance staff and contractors to ensure projects and renovations are within allocated resources and completed in a timely manner. Responsible for preparing and controlling the maintenance budget while ensuring efficient and effective use of human, fiscal and physical resources.
  • Responsible for the building hardware system, which includes doors, lock systems and key cutting operations.
  • Accountable for providing and overseeing the contracts related to refuse removal and recycling services.
  • Establishes the specifications for contract custodial tenders and monitors the housekeeping services to ensure that the College's standards are met and within the approved budget.
  • Ensures that the College grounds are kept in an attractive and safe state of operation through landscape and snow maintenance programs.
 

For more information, please contact:

Name Title Email Ext.
Terry Walker Team Lead - Building Locksmith terry.walker [at] mohawkcollege.ca 3365
John Sullivan Team Lead - Grounds john.sullivan9 [at] mohawkcollege.ca 2418
Frank Mesicek Director, Facility Operations frank.mesicek [at] mohawkcollege.ca 4101

Engineering Services and Projects

  • Provides engineering design, specifications, and drawings by supervising contracts between the College and Consultants. Provide engineering and technical support for the Facilities Planning Department and Facilities Services.
  • Tenders and supervises renovation and construction projects.
  • Ensures all Regional, Provincial and Federal legal obligations, such as building codes and regulations, are observed as they apply to institutional facilities.
  • Troubleshoot problems caused by design deficiencies and provide corrective action with regard to facilities or building systems. Reviews designs which impact the College for all new construction projects.
  • Maintains the technical library and drawing files for Facilities Services.

 

For information please contact:

Name Title Email Ext.
Kathryn Gowland Engineering Services Officer kathryn.gowland [at] mohawkcollege.ca 4079
Jeremy Dowling Engineering Services Officer jeremy.dowling [at] mohawkcollege.ca 3782
David Pitt Project Manager - Construction david.pitt [at] mohawkcollege.ca 4376
Clyde Sterry Project Manager - Construction clyde.sterry [at] mohawkcollege.ca 4725
Tim Gill Manager, Engineering Services & Projects tim.gill [at] mohawkcollege.ca 2099

Facilities & Space Planning

  • Provides corporate planning to ensure proper facilities and learning environment for all College programs and activities.
  • Develops the Master Space Plan.
  • Prepares college-wide Capital Plan, the Major Projects Plan, the Equipment and Renovation Plan.
  • Responsible for reporting the full-time and continuing education enrolment as part of the Ministry's annual enrolment audit process.
  • Responsible for initial planning, coordinating and implementation of approved renovations, equipment, and capital projects, including the acquisition and installation of related classroom and office furnishings.
  • Plans and coordinates lab and classroom layouts, office set-ups, office moves and installation of ergonomic workstations and furniture.

 

For information please contact:

Name Title Email Ext.
Paola Fabrizio Planning Assistant paola.fabrizio [at] mohawkcollege.ca 4415
Dana Cavarzan Planning Officer dana.cavarzan [at] mohawkcollege.ca 3868
Julia Hansen Manager, Planning & Programming Services julia.hansen [at] mohawkcollege.ca 2422
Anthony D'Alessandro Director, Facilities Planning and Engineering Services anthony.dalessandro [at] mohawkcollege.ca 2401

Security and Emergency Management

 

If you do not find the information that you are looking for or wish to provide feedback, please email us at maintenance [at] mohawkcollege.ca.

Our hours of service are 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday.

Facility Services
Fennell Campus, Room B101
905-575-2336

For more information on Facility Operations, please contact:

Name Title Email Ext.
Gloria Montes Facility Services Maintenance Officer gloria.montes [at] mohawkcollege.ca 4742
Allison Sinclair Operations Manager, Facility Services allison.sinclair [at] mohawkcollege.ca 3887
Frank Mesicek Director, Facility Operations frank.mesicek [at] mohawkcollege.ca 4101
Henry Colyn Chief Building and Facilities Officer henry.colyn [at] mohawkcollege.ca 2269