Facility Operations & Engineering Services

Mohawk College Facility Services provides a wide array of services to the Students, Faculty, and Staff.

Facility Services oversees:

  • The implementation of maintenance and improvements of all College facilities to enhance the learning environment and protects the College's physical facilities assets.
  • We direct successful implementations of renovations and construction projects within targeted completion dates and optimize allocated project funding.
  • Proactively develop projects to improve the learning environment and operating cost efficiency.
  • Provide engineering and construction services for all existing and new facilities of the College in support of academic programs and services.

Facility Services areas include:

Mechanical and Electrical

  • Ensures College campuses are safe and in good repair according to applicable legislative and municipal bylaws
  • Oversees the operation & alterations of facilities mechanical & electrical department.
  • Establishes & implements preventative maintenance systems.
  • Plans & implements energy savings measures and monitors utility costs.
  • Secures, manages, monitors and evaluates a variety of services & contracts for cost and operational effectiveness.
  • Plans, organizes and directs mechanical & electrical activities to ensure activities are directed within allocated resources; ensures the efficient and effective use of human, fiscal and physical resources, and within the context of the College's Strategic goals.

 

For more information, please contact:

Name Title Email Ext.
Frank Mesicek Director, Facility Operations frank.mesicek [at] mohawkcollege.ca 4101
Stephen Jankus Energy Specialist steve.jankus [at] mohawkcollege.ca 3794
Brian Fritz Team Lead - Mechanical Team brian.fritz [at] mohawkcollege.ca 4680
Robert Daniel Team Lead - Electrical Team rob.daniel [at] mohawkcollege.ca 4681

Building Maintenance and Grounds

  • Responsible for the maintenance of College building systems including building envelope (roof and exterior walls) and all interior finishes (walls, ceilings and floor coverings). This includes carpentry, brickwork, welding, painting, roof work, floor covering, window coverings and various signage at all campus locations.
  • Organizes, plans, directs and supervises building maintenance staff and contractors to ensure projects and renovations are within allocated resources and completed in a timely manner. Responsible for preparing and controlling the maintenance budget while ensuring efficient and effective use of human, fiscal and physical resources.
  • Responsible for the building hardware system, which includes doors, lock systems and key cutting operations.
  • Accountable for providing and overseeing the contracts related to refuse removal and recycling services.
  • Establishes the specifications for contract custodial tenders and monitors the housekeeping services to ensure that the College's standards are met and within the approved budget.
  • Ensures that the College grounds are kept in an attractive and safe state of operation through landscape and snow maintenance programs.
 

For more information, please contact:

Name Title Email Ext.
Jonathan Boodhoo Manager, Building, Grounds & Housekeeping jonathan.boodhoo [at] mohawkcollege.ca 9314
Terry Walker Team Lead - Building Locksmith terry.walker [at] mohawkcollege.ca 3365
Chris Hunt Team Lead - Grounds christopher.hunt3 [at] mohawkcollege.ca 2418

Facilities Planning and Engineering Services

Engineering Services

  • Provides engineering design, specifications, and drawings by supervising contracts between the College and Consultants. Provide engineering and technical support for the Facilities Planning Department and Facilities Services.
  • Tenders and supervises renovation and construction projects.
  • Ensures all Regional, Provincial and Federal legal obligations, such as building codes and regulations, are observed as they apply to institutional facilities.
  • Troubleshoot problems caused by design deficiencies and provide corrective action with regard to facilities or building systems. Reviews designs which impact the College for all new construction projects.
  • Maintains the technical library and drawing files for Facilities Services.
 

Facilities Planning

  • Provides corporate planning to ensure proper facilities and learning environment for all College programs and activities.
  • Develops the Master Space Plan.
  • Prepares college-wide Capital Plan, the Major Projects Plan, the Equipment and Renovation Plan.
  • Responsible for reporting the full-time and continuing education enrolment as part of the Ministry's annual enrolment audit process.
  • Responsible for initial planning, coordinating and implementation of approved renovations, equipment, and capital projects, including the acquisition and installation of related classroom and office furnishings.
  • Plans and coordinates lab and classroom layouts, office set-ups, office moves and installation of ergonomic workstations and furniture.

 

For information please contact:

Name Title Email Ext.
Anthony D'Alessandro Director, Facilities Planning and Engineering Services anthony.dalessandro [at] mohawkcollege.ca 2401
Julia Hansen Manager, Planning & Programming Services julia.hansen [at] mohawkcollege.ca 2422
Tim Gill Manager, Engineering Services & Projects tim.gill [at] mohawkcollege.ca 2099
Dana Cavarzan Planning Officer dana.cavarzan [at] mohawkcollege.ca 3868
Kathryn Gowland Engineering Services Officer kathryn.gowland [at] mohawkcollege.ca 4079
Jeremy Dowling Engineering Services Officer jeremy.dowling [at] mohawkcollege.ca 3782
Mitch Sabsabi Project Manager - Construction mitch.sabsabi [at] mohawkcollege.ca 4588

Security and Emergency Management

College Emergency Services (24 Hours) 
Mohawk Security Services 905-575-2003
905-574-5111
Fennell and Stoney Creek Campuses 55 (from college phones)
Institute for Applied Health Sciences at McMaster (McMaster Security)  88 (from university phones)
Security Desks (for non-emergencies)
Fennell Campus 905-575-2003
Stoney Creek Campus 905-575-1212 ext 5035
Institute for Applied Health Sciences at McMaster (McMaster)  905-525-9140 ext. 24281 
Campus Closure Line
View the Campus Closure web page for up-to-date closure information.
Hamilton campuses  905-575-2444 

For more information, please contact:

Name Title Email Ext.
Catherine O'Donnell Director, Security Services catherine.odonnell [at] mohawkcollege.ca 2367
Rob Davis Operations Supervisor rob.davis [at] mohawkcollege.ca 2180
Amanda Anderson Training & Investigation Officer amanda.anderson3 [at] mohawkcollege.ca 2316

Visit our Security and Emergency Management website 

 

 

If you do not find the information that you are looking for or wish to provide feedback, please email us at maintenance [at] mohawkcollege.ca.

Our hours of service are 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday.

Facility Services
Fennell Campus, Room B101
905-575-2336

For more information on Facility Operations, please contact:

Name Title Email Ext.
Henry Colyn Chief Building and Facilities Officer henry.colyn [at] mohawkcollege.ca 2269
Frank Mesicek Director, Facility Operations frank.mesicek [at] mohawkcollege.ca 4101

Allison Sinclair

Operations Manager, Facility Services allison.sinclair [at] mohawkcollege.ca 3887
Gloria Montes Facility Services Maintenance Officer gloria.montes [at] mohawkcollege.ca

4742

Caitlin Mackinnon Facility Services Administrative Officer caitlin.mackinnon [at] mohawkcollege.ca 4668