Mohawk Fares Well In OCAA Women’s Volleyball

The Mohawk women's volleyball team didn't win a medal, but they didn't return home from Sudbury empty handed.
The Mountaineers captured the consolation title at the OCAA Women's Volleyball Championship at Cambrian College.
Mohawk downed a gritty St. Clair Saints side 31-29, 14-25, 27-25. 25-18, Sunday (Feb. 24).
Jessica Heidbuurt had 12 kills for the Mountaineers. Amanda Kuiper produced eight kills and 22 assists and Holly Clarke had 15 digs.
Middle Saylor Smith was named Mohawk's Player of the Match.
Julie Ann Milling was St. Clair's top player.
Ally Kozak led the Saints with 10 kills and Kimberley Quintanilla had 30 assists.
The Mountaineers advanced to the consolation final by defeating Sheridan 25-14, 25-17, 22-25, 25-23 Saturday (Feb. 23). 
Jessica Heidbuurt had a strong match with 20 kills for Mohawk. Emily MacEachern had nine kills, while Mountaineers' Player of the Match Amanda Kuiper produced 35 assists and Kaelyn Emslie recorded 18 digs.
Bruins' Player of the Match, Tamia Cooper-Evelyn, had 19 kills for her side. 
St. Clair downed host Cambrian 3-1 in the other consolation semi. 
Mohawk had some early leads, but the powerful Fanshawe Falcons came back in each case to sweep their OCAA Women's Volleyball Quarter Final 3-0 Friday (Feb. 22).
The Mountaineers were 13-5 in the regular season, but the Falcons won 18 straight matches.
Jessica Heidbuurt was selected as the Mountaineers' Player of the Match. She led her team with 10 kills. Jennifer Knowles had 11 assists and Holly Clarke contributed 11 digs.
For the Falcons, their Player of the Match, Meghan Morelli and Janelle Albert each had nine kills and Ashley Rafferty had 22 assists.
Fanshawe went on to win the championship, 3-0 over the Niagara Knights.
"Although we didn't walk away with a medal, we walked away with pride and a satisfying completion to the end of our season,” said Mohawk head coach Matthew Schnarr. "Our leadership of Jessica Heidbuurt, Amanda Kuiper and Jen Knowles was outstanding all season in leading our rookie laden team to a 16 and 6 record all year. 
We wish our four graduating athletes, Jordan Geerts, Holly Clarke, Knowles and Heidbuurt all the best in their next journey. We look forward to the 12 athletes returning being inspired and motivated to prepare for the 2019-2020 season,”Schnarr said.