Bay Area Climate Change Council (BACCC)

The mandate of the Bay Area Climate Change Council (BACCC) is to provide strategic leadership and function as an ongoing forum for advice, feedback and guidance to the Bay Area Climate Change Implementation Team(s) (BACCIT) via the independent Support Team of coordinators in the Bay Area Climate Change Office (BACCO).

The purpose of the council is to set priorities for action for the implementation team(s) and to drive local climate action through goal setting and evaluation.

Council Members

The BACCC is a non-political, independent advisory committee. The inaugural BACCC consists of the member organizations listed below, although the composition of the Council will evolve over time as regional priorities and Council requirements change.

  • Burlington Economic Development Corp - Anita Cassidy
  • Burlington Green - Amy Schnurr
  • Burlington Sustainable Development Advisory Committee - Carolyn Barnes
  • Clean Air Hamilton - Bruce Newbold
  • Conservation Halton - Kim Barrett
  • Environment Hamilton- Lynda Lukasik
  • Hamilton Chamber of Commerce - Richard Allen
  • Hamilton Conservation Authority - Scott Peck
  • Hamilton Health Sciences - Victoria Brzozowski
  • Hamilton Industrial Environmental Association - Karen Logan
  • Sustainable Hamilton Burlington - Kim Gutt
  • United Way Hamilton Halton - Mike Mikulak

Committee members are guided by Terms of Reference and members were selected based on community input received during the stakeholder engagement process.

The following CCCM Partners assist the Council in an Advisory role:

  • City of Hamilton – Trevor Imhoff, Andrea McDowell, Shelley Rogers
  • City of Burlington – Lynn Robichaud
  • Mohawk College – Kate Flynn

Support Team - Roles and Responsibilities

The Support Team will be comprised of two coordinators, one for the BACCC and one for the BACCIT. These individuals will be hired when funding is sourced.

  • Providing facilitation, coordination and support to BACCC and BACCIT;
  • Providing administrative duties for BACCC and BACCIT, including applying for grants;
  • Facilitate all education, communications, and promotions – including the public forum - on behalf of BACCC and BACCIT;
  • Representing the public interest in BACCC and BACCIT, through public engagement and
  • consultation; and,
  • Facilitating monitoring and reporting of BACCIT progress.

BACCO Partners - Roles and Responsibilities

The CCCM at Mohawk College and the Cities of Hamilton and Burlington roles and responsibilities include:

  • Supporting BACCC and BACCIT on financial matters including grant applications, project budgets and reporting;
  • Providing expert advice to strategic planning and setting of overarching goals (managed by BACCC);
  • Informing City Councils on the progress of regional climate change initiatives; and,
  • Seeking local government approval on a project-specific basis (where required).