MyCanvas Cross-listing allows section enrollments from individual courses to be combined into one course. This feature is helpful for instructors who teach several sections of the same course and only want to manage course data in one location. Instructors can allow students to view users in other sections or limit them to only view users in the same section. Section names do not change when they are cross-listed; the section is just moved to another course.
- We recommend only cross-listing courses with the same name. In MyCanvas, cross-listing does not create a new course shell. Instead, the students are moved from one course into the other, and the name of the destination course will not change. For example, if you crosslist the students from “Aircraft Maintenance” into “Aircraft Systems,” then both groups of students will be in “Aircraft Systems” and the students who have moved will no longer see “Aircraft Maintenance” in their course list.
- Cross-listing should be done while courses are unpublished. Coursework is retained with the course, not with the section enrollments, so if a published course is cross-listed, all cross-listed enrollments will lose any associated assignment submissions and grades.
Instructors can allow students to view users in other sections or limit them to only view users in the same section. More information on Canvas Cross-listing.
To cross-list your courses please complete this form and it will automatically submit a request to the Helpdesk. One submitted form for each specific course crosslisting request. Please allow 2-3 business days for these requests to be completed.
CSV Upload Option:
*You can download the CSV Crosslisting Template, then upload to the form instead of filling in the fields below. (Optional)
Manual Input Option: