Alumni Awards

Alumni of Distinction logo

The Alumni of Distinction awards recognize graduates for their career achievements and community contributions that provide an exceptional source of inspiration for future generations. In honour of every recipient, the Alumni Association supports a bursary with a one-time donation of $500 to Mohawk College to support current students in achieving their goals.

2020 Alumni of Distinction Award Recipients

Chris Vanhouten – Civil Engineering Technology, 1995
Senior Project Specialist, Walters Group

Karen Breitner – Electrician: Construction & Maintenance (AP), 1988 
Industrial Electrician – HITD (AP), 1992 
Owner, Lumination FX

Lisa McDonald – Child and Youth Worker, 1994
Author and Radio Host, The Contact Talk Radio Network

Community Services
Nancy Smith – Child Care Worker, 1981
Executive Director, Interval House Hamilton

Creative Arts & Design
Elizabeth Naumovski – Broadcasting – Television and Communications Media, 1984
Vice President Marketing, Caldwell Securities Ltd.

John McGrath – Broadcast Journalism, 1983
Principal, McGrath Communications

Health Sciences
Dr. Laurie McLaughlin – Physiotherapy, 1982
Owner, M & D Pro Health

Mohawk College Employee
Brian Willrich – Broadcast Television, 1980
Faculty, Media & Communications

Recent Graduate
Curtis Onaczyszyn – Environmental Technology, 2019
Spray Technician, Bartram Woodlands Ltd.

Bella N. Dietrich – Architectural Technology & Civil Engineering Technology, 2009
Arup, Senior Consultant, Global Foresight, Research & Innovation

Premier's Awards

Annually Mohawk College puts forth 6 nominees to the Premier's Awards.

Find out more about the Premier's Award

Follow Alumni

icon-twitter-50x50.png icon-fb-50x50.png icon-linkedin-50x50.png icon-instagram-50x50.png